Contacts

Department Mailing Address

Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science 
Edmund T. Pratt Jr. School of Engineering
Duke University
Box 90300 Hudson Hall
Durham, NC 27708-0300

Phone: 919-660-5310
Fax: 919-660-8963

Earl Dowell
Professor and Chair
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5302 
dowell@duke.edu

Donald Bliss 
Director of Undergraduate Studies 
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5315
donald.bliss@duke.edu

Stefan Zauscher
Director of Graduate Studies 
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5360
zauscher@duke.edu

Zhanat Alma Elliston
Business Manager
zhanat.elliston@duke.edu
919-660-5308

Departmental Support

Deborah Fraze
HR, Specialist
deborah.fraze@duke.edu
919-660-5309

Glenda Hester
Administrative Assistant
glenda.hester@duke.edu
919-660-5359

Michele Thompson
Purchasing Agent, Staff Assistant
mthomp@duke.edu
919-660-5321

Pamela King
IGERT WISeNet Program Coordinator
pamela.king@duke.edu
919-660-6335

Joanne Grosshans
GUIde Consortium Program Coordinator
joanne.grosshans@duke.edu
919-660-5116

Grants and Research Administration

Alice Huang
Senior Grants and Contracts Administrator
alice.huang@duke.edu
919-681-2919

Crystal Hinnant
Advanced Grants and Contracts Administrator
crystal.hinnant@duke.edu
919-613-5810

Student Support

Kathy Parrish
Staff Specialist; DGSA & DUGSA Assistant
kparrish@duke.edu 
919-660-5310

Facilities and Lab Support

Patrick McGuire
Sr. Lab Administrator
patrick.mcguire@duke.edu
919-660-5261

Nikhil Bump
Research and Development Engineer II
nb72@duke.edu
919-660-5161

John Goodfellow
Senior Instrument Maker
john.goodfellow@duke.edu
919-660-5318