Contacts

 

Department Mailing Address

Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science 
Edmund T. Pratt Jr. School of Engineering
Duke University
Box 90300 Hudson Hall
Durham, NC 27708-0300

Phone: 919-660-5310
Fax: 919-660-8963

Academic Contacts

Earl Dowell
Professor and Chair
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5302 
dowell@duke.edu

Donald Bliss 
Director of Undergraduate Studies 
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5315
donald.bliss@duke.edu

Stefan Zauscher
Director of Graduate Studies 
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
919-660-5360
zauscher@duke.edu

Department Staff

In support of the mission of the department, the administrative structure is organized to support the Chair and the faculty in research, teaching and service to the profession. The assembled staff has specific and delineated responsibilities to assist and/or execute departmental tasks. The following is a detailed description of each of the staff members and their role in the departmental structure.

Zhanat Alma Elliston
Business Manager
zhanat.elliston@duke.edu
919-660-5308

Responsible for overseeing administration of budget-related and personnel-related activities in Department, manages the human resources aspect, supports department grants management, works with Director of Graduate Studies on students’ payroll, tuition, and all financial problems that arise regarding the students, handles all visa requests.

Glenda Hester
Administrative Assistant
glenda.hester@duke.edu
919-660-5359

Provide overall administrative assistance to departmental chairman. Coordinator of a variety of business related functions such as office management, finance and APT procedure and process.

Alice Huang
Specialist, Grants and Contracts
alice.huang@duke.edu
919-681-2919

Lori Kemler
Specialist, Grants and Contracts
lori.kemler@duke.edu
919-660-5284

Responsible for assisting with all aspects of sponsored research management from preparation and submission of proposals to monitoring, reconciling, and close-out of awards received (pre and post award administration).

Kathy Parrish
Staff Specialist; DGSA & DUGSA Assistant
kparrish@duke.edu 
919-660-5310

Assist the Faculty, Staff, Graduate and Undergraduate Students with administrative support, graduate programs and studies; including organizing Graduate Seminars, Pratt Recruiting Days and the processing of applications each semester.

Michele Thompson
Staff Assistant
mthomp@duke.edu 
919-660-5321

Assistant to Dr. Earl H. Dowell providing administrative support for Dr. Dowell, ME Faculty and Graduate Students. Also, back up administrative support for the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science.

Patrick McGuire
Research and Development Engineer II
patrick.mcguire@duke.edu 
919-660-5261

Provide engineering services by performing a variety of technical duties involved in planning, design, construction, alteration and testing related to the mechanical engineering field in support of MEMS department undergraduate laboratories or research and development activities.

John Goodfellow
Senior Instrument Maker
john.goodfellow@duke.edu 
919-660-5318

Designing and building research equipment for the faculty and graduate students as well as assisting the undergraduate students with daily class projects. Teaching of safety class and machining class to undergraduate students as part of courses taught by the ME faculty.

Amy Yonai
IGERT WISeNet Program Coordinator
amy.yonai@duke.edu
919-660-6335 

Program Coordinator for the Wireless Intelligent Sensor Networks (WISeNet) Integrative Graduate Education and Research Training (IGERT) program.

Joanne Grosshans
GUIde Consortium Program Coordinator
joanne.grosshans@duke.edu
919-660-5116